City Commission




There are five city commission districts with one commission member elected by district by the voters in that district for a term of four years. The city commission shall give due consideration to the multiple constitutional principles involved in the electoral process and give due regard for the opportunity of minority representation on the city commission as part of the redistricting process. An incumbent commissioner's seat number and/or group may change due to the realignment process occurring during districting.


The City Commissioners:
* are city residents, electors, and qualified voters;
* are appointed;
* have all legislative powers of the city;
* meet regularly usually on the second and fourth Thursday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in city hall;
* hold special meetings, on the call of the mayor or a majority of the members and, whenever practicable, no less than twelve (12) hours' notice is given to each member and the public and all meetings are open to the public;
* hold all city elections, declare the results, and judge the election and qualification;
* appoint the city treasurer, city clerk, city manager, and city attorney, and
* take actions on permits if they are in violation; ordinances and resolutions, and the budget and appropriate funds.

Every year at the first regular city commission meeting, after the regular election or as soon as possible thereafter, the city commission shall elect from among its members a mayor and a vice mayor.

The Mayor:
* presides at commission meetings;
* has a voice and a vote but no veto power in commission proceedings;
* shall be recognized: as head of city government for all ceremonial purposes, by the governor for purposes of military law, for service of process, execution of contracts, deeds and other documents, and as the city official designated to represent the city in agreements with other governmental entities or certificates to other governmental entities;

* sets the agenda for all commission meetings;
* names committees of the commission;
* appoints members of the city boards with approval of the commission, and
* have no other administrative duties except as required to carry out the responsibilities as previously described.

The vice mayor shall act as mayor during the absence or disability of the mayor.


The Commission meets on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of the month, at 7:00p.m., in City Hall.Meetings are open to the public.